Area riders post wins at Royal

CAROGA LAKE – Seven area riders were among the winners Wednesday during Monster Energy Supercross competition at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers won the mini 80cc 9-to-11-year-old and junior mini 9-to-11-year-old classes. Blowers also placed fourth in the open mini 10-to-16-year-old class.

Johnstown’s Brandon Handy won the mini 60cc 7-to-11-year-old class, while Mayfield’s Jordan Miller won the mini quad 51-90cc production class

Broadalbin’s Andrew Hughes won the quad novice class, while Amsterdam’s Geoffrey Hoyt won the quad schoolboy 12-to-16-year-old class.

Gloversville’s John Berthiaume won the plus-30 expert class, while Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar won the 122-250cc amateur class.

In addition to Blowers, two other riders won two different classes Wednesday.

Cobleskill’s Ryan Daly won 85cc 12-to-15-year-old and open mini 10-to-16-year-old classes, while Catskill’s Nicholas Schindler won the 122-open novice and 122-250cc novice classes.

Other winners included Clifton Park’s Gavin Betts (50cc junior 4-6), Scotia’s Chad Forstell (50cc pee wee senior 7-8), Ravena’s Kevin Scarcella (122-open amateur), Whitesboro’s Mitch Daugherty (122-open expert), Corinth’s Dareck Graham (mini quad 50cc production), Albany’s Michael Gambacorta (quad amateur), Rotterdam’s Jake Kiefner (plus 30 amateur) and East Berne’s Joe Vitetta (122-250cc expert).

Several other area riders posted top-five finishes.

Mayfield’s B.J. Smith was third in the 122-open expert class, while Gloversville’s Adam Handy was third in the 122-250cc expert class.

In the 50cc pee wee senior 7-and-8-year-old class, Gloversville’s Ronnie Christman was second and Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was third.

Johnstown’s Casey Battisti was second in the 85cc 12-to-15-year-old class, third in the open mini 10-to-16-year-old class and fifth in the 122-250cc novice class.

In the mini 60cc 7-to-11-year-old class, Fonda’s Charles Rose was fourth and Gloversville’s Tanner Warner was fifth. Rose also was fourth in the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old class.

Caroga Lake’s Jack Mulyca was third in the 122-open novice class and second in the 122-250cc novice class.

In the mini quad 91-90cc production class, Caroga Lake’s Dalton Nichols was third, Fonda’s Skyler Olmstead was fourth and Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. was fifth.

Broadalbin’s Fred Hansen was second in the quad amateur class, while Amsterdam’s Katharine Hoyt was fifth in the quad novice class.

Amsterdam’s Jeremy Tittemore was second in the plus-30 amateur class, while Gloversville’s Keith Orr was third.

A field of 120 riders took part in Wednesday’s event.

Royal Mountain will be back in action next Wednesday with a supercross event.

For more information, visit the track’s website,

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

50cc Pee Wee (Junior 4-6): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park), 2. Mason Haberek (Niverville)

50cc Pee Wee (Senior 7-8): 1. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 2. Ronnie Christman (Gloversville), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Trevor Stempel (Berne)

85cc (12-15): 1. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Reid Schindler (Catskill), 4. Nicholas Debernardis (Frankfort)

Mini 80cc (9-11): Tyler Blowers (Fonda)

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 2. Kenneth Deridder (Middle Grove), 3. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 4. Charles Rose (Fonda), 5. Tanner Warner (Gloversville)

122-Open Novice: 1. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 2. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville), 3.

Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 4. Zac Rifenburgh (Valley Falls), 5. Brodie O’Dell (Pownal, Vt.)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Kevin Scarcella (Ravena), 2. Frank Hempstead III (Westerlo), 3. Lawrence Havens (Fort Edward), 4. Jacob Church (Greenville), 5. Derek Bornt (Poestenkill)

122-Open Expert: 1. Mitch Dougherty (Whitesboro), 2. Christopher Ray (Cairo), 3. B.J. Smith (Mayfield), 4. Cody Locci (East Berne), 5. Sam Schilde (Sharon Springs)

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 3. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 4. Charles Rose (Fonda),

Mini Quad Production (50cc): 1. Dareck Graham (Corinth)

Mini Quad Production (51-90cc): 1. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 2. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 3. Dalton Nichols (Caroga Lake), 4. Skyler Olmstead (Fonda), 5. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown)

Quad Amateur: 1. Michael Gambacorta (Albany), 2. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 3. Eric Junquera (Scotia)

Quad Novice: 1. Andrew Hughes (Broadalbin), 2. Cody Heckman (Chestertown), 3. James South (Roundtop), 4. Mike O’Connell (Wynantskill), 5. Katharine Hoyt (Amsterdam)

Quad Schoolboy (12-16): 1. Geoffrey Hoyt (Amsterdam), 2. Tyler Jarvis (Queensbury)

Open Mini 10-16: 1. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 2. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 3. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 4. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 5. Reid Schindler (Catskill)

Plus 30 Amateur: 1. Jake Kiefner (Rotterdam), 2. Jeremy Tittemore (Amsterdam), 3. Keith Orr (Gloversville), 4. Chris Johnson (Guilderland Center), 5. Ernie Weir (Argyle)

Plus 30 Expert: 1. John Berthiaume Jr. (Gloversville), 2. Matt Dwyer (Esperance). 3. Greg Stempel (East Berne), 4. Rich Winchell (Schuylerville)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 2. Frank Hempstead III (Westerlo), 3. Derek Bornt (Poestenkill), 4. Zachary Fancher (Warnerville), 5. Jarrod Bugbee (Glenmont)

122-250 Expert: 1. Joe Vitetta (East Berne), 2. Christopher Ray (Cairo), 3. Adam Handy (Gloversville), 4. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville)

122-250 Novice: 1. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 2. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 3. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville), 4. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 5. Casey Battisti (Johnstown)