Area riders compete at Royal Mountain

CAROGA LAKE – A field of 147 riders took part in Wednesday’s Monster Energy Supercross event at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers was a double winner Wednesday during Monster Energy Supercross competion at Royal Mountain Ski Area. Blowers picked up victories in the mini 80cc 9-to-11-year-old and junior mini 9-to-11 year-old classes.

Several other local riders also picked up victories.

Amsterdam’s Matthew Hirschfeld won the mini quad 51-90cc production class, while Gloversville’s John Berthiaume won the plus-30 expert class. Berthiaume also placed third in the 122-open expert class.

Broadalbin’s Andrew Hughes won the quad novice class, while Johnstown’s Brandon Handy won the mini 60cc 7-to-11-year-old class.

Handy also was third in the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old class.

In addition to Blowers, three other riders also picked up wins in two different classes Wednesday.

Whitesboro’s Mitch Daugherty won 122-250cc expert and 122-open expert classes, while Cobleskill’s Ryan Daly won the open mini 10-to-16-year-old and 85cc 12-to-15-year-old classes. Daly also placed fifth in the 122-250cc novice class.

Mt. Marion’s T.J. Albright won the 122-250cc novice and 122-open novice classes.

Other winners included Clifton Park’s Gavin Betts (50cc pee wee junior 4-6), Scotia’s Chad Forstell (50cc pee wee senior 7-8), Corinth’s Dareck Graham (mini quad 50cc production), Johnsonville’s Zack Mossey (122-250cc amateur), Melrose’s Kenny Bornt (plus-30 amateur), Queensbury’s Tyler Jarvis (quad schoolboy 12-16), Albany’s Michael Gambacorta (quad amateur), Corinth’s Derek Graham (quad expert) and Ravena’s Kevin Scarcella (122-open amateur).

Several other area riders also posted top-five finishes.

In the 50cc pee wee senior 7-and-8-year-old class, Gloversville’s Ronnie Christman was second and Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was fourth.

Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar was second in both the 122-250cc amateur and 122-open amateur classes.

Sprakers’ Ronald Jones was fifth in the plus-30 amateur class, while Caroga Lake’s Jack Mulyca was second in the 122-open novice class.

In the mini quad 51-90cc production class, Caroga Lake’s Dalton Nichols was third, Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was fourth and Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. was fifth.

Fonda’s Charles Rose was fourth in the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old class, while Amsterdam’s Katharine Hoyt was third in the quad novice class.

Amsterdam’s Geoffrey Hoyt was second in the quad schoolboy 12-to-16-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Adryan Pelosi was fifth in the 122-open amateur class.

In the 85cc 12-to-15-year-old class, Johnstown’s Casey Battisti was second and Gloversville’s Schuyler Smith was fifth. Battisti also placed third in the open mini 10-to-16-year-old class.

Gloversville’s Adam Handy was third in the 125-250cc expert class, while Fort Plain’s Brody Zelezny was fifth.

In the quad amateur class, Salisbury’s Brian Harper Jr. was third and Galway’s Duncan Peters was fifth.

A field of 147 riders took part in Wednesday’s action.

Royal Mountain will be back in action Sunday with a Central New York Motocross Riders Association event.

For more information on Royal Mountain, visit the track’s website,

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

50cc Pee Wee Junior (4-6): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park)

50cc Pee Wee Senior (7-8): 1. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 2. Ronnie Christman (Gloversville), 3. Andrew Weingarten (Cobleskill), 4. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 5. Trevor Stempel (Berne)

Mini Quad (50cc Production): 1. Dareck Graham (Corinth)

Mini Quad (51-90cc Production): 1. Matthew Hirschfeld (Amsterdam), 2. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 3. Dalton Nichols (Caroga Lake), 4. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 5. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown)

85cc (12-15): 1. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Nicholas Debernardis (Frankfort), 4. Reid Schindler (Catskill), 5. Schuyler Smith (Gloversville)

Mini 80cc (9-11): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda)

122-250cc Expert: 1. Mitch Daugherty (Whitesboro), 2. Joe Vitetta (East Berne), 3. Adam Handy (Gloversville), 4. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville), 5. Brody Zelezny (Fort Plain)

122-250cc Amateur: 1. Zack Mossey (Johnsonville), 2. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 3. Frank Hempstead III (Westerlo), 4. John Grassia (Schenectady), 5. Jacob Church (Greenville)

122-250cc Novice: 1. T.J. Albright (Mt. Marion), 2. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 3. Morgan Cornell (Schuylerville), 4. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville), 5. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill)

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 3. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 4. Charles Rose (Fonda)

Plus 30 Amateur: 1. Kenny Bornt (Melrose), 2. James W. Lefebvre (Stillwater), 3. John Messina (Oneonta), 4. Ernie Weir (Argyle), 5. Ronald Jones (Sprakers)

Plus 30 Expert: 1. John Berthiaume Jr. (Gloversville)

Quad Novice: 1. Andrew Hughes (Broadalbin), 2. Cody Haleman (Chestertown), 3. Katharine Hoyt (Amsterdam), 4. Anthony Scolaro (Cobleskill)

Quad Schooboy (12-16): 1. Tyler Jarvis (Queensbury), 2. Geoffrey Hoyt (Amsterdam)

Quad Amateur: 1. Michael Gambacorta (Albany), Eric Junquera (Scotia), 3. Brian Harper Jr. (Salisbury), 4. Frank Cosamano III (Utica), 5. Duncan Peters (Galway)

Quad Expert: 1. Derek Graham (Corinth)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Ryan Daly (Cobleskill), 2. Brodie O’Dell (Pownal, Vt.), 3. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 4. Justin Akin (Schaghticoke), 5. Cole Hulbert (Medusa)

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 2. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 3. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 4. Paige Weingarten (Cobleskill), 5. Chad Forstell (Scotia)

122-Open Expert: 1. Mitch Daugherty (Whitesboro), 2. Kris St. Gelais (Schaghticoke), 3. John Berthiaume Jr. (Gloversville), 4. Brian Falzo (Johnsonville), 5. Cody Locci (East Berne)

122-Open Novice: 1. T.J. Albright (Mt. Marion), 2. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 3. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 4. Morgan Cornell (Schuylerville), 5. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Kevin Scarcella (Ravena), 2. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 3. Frank Hempstead (Westerlo), 4. Zack Mossey (Johnsonville), 5. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown)