FFCS hosts annual sports awards event

FONDA – The 60th annual Fonda-Fultonville Central School All-Sports Awards took place June 3 in the FFCS auditorium.

The event was sponsored by the FFCS Athletic Association and recognized seniors, letter winners and special award winners.

Patrick Hart and Zac Nowak shared the John J. Jackson Memorial MVP Award for football.

Tyler Cranker and Dom Neri shared the Kimball Award for best offensive lineman, while Eric Moyer and Will Turner shared the Michael J. Mongin Best Defensive Lineman Award.

Other football awards went to Ryan Derby (John J. Furman Award – academics), Brandon Baker (Visscher Memorial Best Offensive Back), Kevin Twardzik (Mancini Award – best defensive back) and Josh Maybury (John West Most Valuable Newcomer).

Kimberly Geniti and Jamie Kasza shared the Most Valuable Runner Award for girls cross country, while Samantha Phelps and Carly Littlejohn shared the Most Improved Award. Kacie Hunter claimed the Most Productive Newcomer Award for girls cross country.

Matthew Hoffman and Tyler Angioli were the co-winners of the boys cross country Most Valuable Runner Award, while Jacob Shave and James Westman shared the Most Dedicated Runner Award. Dylan DeSorbo and Cameron Gilligan were the co-winners on the Most Productive Runner Award, while Dalton Hunter was named Most Improved.

Tom Lyons was named the boys soccer Most Valuable Player and earned the Best Offensive Player Award. Marcus Bonafede (Best Defensive Player), Tristan Nellis (Most Improved), Sheldon Wayman (Coach’s Award) and Joe Fox (110% Award) also earned boys soccer honors.

Cassandra Egelston (Best Offensive Player), Guilyan O’Kosky (Coach’s Award), Lindsay Therrien (Best Defensive Player), Emily Frollo (110% Award) and Sarah Krzys (Most Valuable Newcomer) earned the girls soccer awards.

Sierra Park was named the Laura Gage Memorial MVP for the volleyball team and also earned the Best Server Award. Danielle Clifford (Most Improved), Autumn Scott (Best Defensive Player) and Taylor Wetsky (Best Hitter) also earned volleyball awards.

Lucas Calkins was named the golf team’s Most Valuable Player, while Alex Wallace claimed the Coach’s Award.

Will Turner was named the James C. Lippie Memorial MVP for boys basketball. He also earned the Leading Rebounder Award. Ryan Derby (Coach’s Award), Mace Madore (Most Improved), Zac Nowak (110% Award) and Luke Calkins (Best Newcomer) also earned boys basketball awards.

Emily Parslow (Jennifer Freeman Memorial MVP), Emily Frollo (Coach’s Award), Cassandra Egelston (Hustle Award), Jeananna Warner (Most Valuable Newcomer) and Taylor Wetsky (Leading Rebounder) earned the girls basketball awards.

Eric Moyer earned the Robert Burgess Memorial MVP Award for the wrestling team. He also claimed the Szabo Memorial Coach’s Award. Ryan Park (Top Tournament Wrestler), Jacob Boyer (Most Improved) and Richard Bagley (Fastest Pin) also earned wrestling awards.

Samantha Sweet was named the girls swimming MVP, while Jenny Zilka earned the Coach’s Award.

Stephen Dunbar was named the boys swimming MVP, while Christopher Dunbar earned the Coach’s Award.

Kimberly Geniti and Lindsay Therrien shared the Most Valuable Runner Award for girls indoor track. Alex Wisniewski (Best Sprinter), Jamie Kasza (Best Distance Runner) and Rebekah Hentnik (Best Field Performer) also earned girls indoor track honors.

James Westman was named the boys indoor track Most Valuable Performer, while Dalton Hunter was named the Best Sprinter. Matthew Hoffman and Tyler Angioli shared the Best Distance Runner Award, while Kyle Guiffre and Jacob Hentnik were the co-winners of the Best Field Performer Award. Michael Sweet earned the Most Productive Runner Award for boys indoor track.

Robert O’Kosky was named the boys bowling MVP, while Nick Battisti claimed the Coach’s Award.

Guilyan O’Kosky earned the girls bowling MVP Award, while Pamela Congdon earned the Coach’s Award.

Matthew Hoffman (James F. Minicki Memorial MVP), Michael Sweet (Best Sprinter), James Westman (Best Distance Events), Tyler Angioli (Best Distance Events), Kyle Guiffre (Best Field Events) and Tristan Nellis (Most Improved) claimed the boys outdoor track and field awards.

Lindsay Therrien was named the Most Valuable Runner for girls outdoor track, while Caitlyn McGuirk earned the Best Sprinter Award.

Kimberly Geniti (Best Distance Events), Whitney Martuscello (Best Field Events) and Rebekah Hentnik (Most Improved) also earned girls outdoor track and field awards.

Cassandra Egelston was named the Avis E. Lippie Memorial MVP for the softball team, while Emily Frollo earned the Coach’s Award. Allyson Putnam (Best Newcomer), Courtney Putnam (Best Defensive Player) and Samantha Hart (Batting Title) also claimed softball awards.

Zak Shaw earned the Higgins Plaque as the Most Valuable Player on the baseball team. Clyde Sammons (Coach’s Award), Patrick Hart (Best Newcomer), Anthony Sinicropi (Best Newcomer), Kevin Twardzik (Best Defensive Player) and Baylee Hall (Batting Title) also earned baseball awards.

The cheerleading awards went to Kelsey Gray (Football MVP), Savannah Lilley (Football MVP), Brooke Presley (Football Dedication), Danielle Yaisler (Football – Most Improved), Lauren Handy (Basketball MVP), Kayla Vennett (Basketball Dedication), Shyanne Roberson (Basketball – Most Improved), Megan Myers (Cheerleading Booster Overall MVP), Kayla Bradley (Cheerleading Booster Overall MVP) and Maren Caffrey (Cheerleading Booster Overall MVP).