Royal kicks off supercross season

CAROGA LAKE – The 2013 Monster Energy Supercross season kicked off Wednesday at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

A field of 129 riders took part in the event.

Five area riders picked up wins on the opening night of competition.

Fort Plain’s Zackery Kollar won the 122-250cc amateur class and placed third in the 122-open amateur class.

Johnstown’s Adryan Pelosi won the 122-open amateur class, Broadalbin’s Andrew Hughes won the quad novice class, Amsterdam’s Geoffrey Hoyt won the quad schoolboy 12-to-16-year-old class and Amsterdam’s Jeremy Tittemore won the plus-30 amateur class.

Three riders won two different classes on opening night.

Edmeston’s Tyrick Wheeler won the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old and the mini 60cc 7-to-11-year-old classes, while Whitesboro’s Mitch Daugherty won the 122-open expert and 122-250 expert classes.

Pennellville’s Anthony Grenga also claimed a pair of victories, winning the 85cc 12-to-15-year-old and open mini 10-to-16-year-old classes.

Other winners included Clifton Park’s Gavin Betts (50cc pee wee junior 4-6), Scotia’s Chad Forstell (50cc pee wee senior 7-8), Corinth’s Dareck Graham (mini quad 50cc production), Queensbury’s Mason St. John-Lemery (mini quad 51-90cc production), Scotia’s Eric Junquera (quad amateur), Catskill’s Nicholas Schindler (122-open novice), Esperance’s Matt Dwyer (plus-30 expert) and Catskill’s Nick Huber (122-250 novice).

Several local riders posted top-five showings Wednesday.

Johnstown’s Casey Battisti was second in the 85cc 12-to-15-year-old class and second in the open mini 10-to-16-year-old class.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers was second in the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Brandon Handy was third and Fonda’s Charles Rose was third.

Handy, who was celebrating his birthday, also added a second-place finish in the mini 60cc 7-to-11-year-old class, while Blowers added a third in the open mini 10-to-16-year-old class.

In the quad amateur class, Broadalbin’s Fred Hansen was second and Broadalbin’s Colby Watras was fourth.

In the 50cc pee wee senior 7-8 year-old division, Gloversville’s Ronnie Christman was third and Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was fourth.

Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was second in the mini quad 51-90cc production class, while Johnstown’s Jason Morrison Jr. was third and Caroga Lake’s Dalton Nichols was fourth.

Canajoharie’s Ricky Lippman was fourth in the 122-open amateur class and third in the 122-250cc amateur class.

Caroga Lake’s Jacob Danyew was fifth in the 122-open novice class, while Amsterdam’s Katharine Hoyt was third in the quad novice class.

In the plus-30 amateur class, Sprakers’ Ronald Jones was fourth and Gloversville’s Dennis Fitzpatrick was fifth.

Gloversville’s Adam Handy was fourth in the 122-250cc expert class, while Caroga Lake’s Jack Mulyca was second in the 122-250 novice class.

Royal Mountain will be back in action next Wednesday night with practice taking to the track at 7 p.m. and racing slated to start at 8 p.m.

Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

50cc Pee Wee (Junior 4-6): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park)

50cc Pee Wee (Senior 7-8): 1. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 2. Dominic Grenga (Pennellville), 3. Ronnie Christman (Gloversville), 4. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 5. Trevor Stempel (Berne)

Mini Quad (50cc production): 1. Dareck Graham (Corinth)

Mini Quad (51-90cc production): 1. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 2. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 3. Jason Morrison Jr. (Johnstown), 4. Dalton Nichols (Caroga Lake)

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 2. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 3. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 4. Charles Rose (Fonda)

85cc (12-15): 1. Anthony Grenga (Pennellville), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Zachary Hume (Burlington Flats)

Quad Amateur: 1. Eric Junquera (Scotia), 2. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 3. Michael Arnold (Troy), 4. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 5. Michael Gambacorta (Albany)

Quad Novice: 1. Andrew Hughes (Broadalbin), 2. James South (Roundtop), 3. Katharine Hoyt (Amsterdam), 4. Cody Heckman (Chestertown), 5. Blaise McAllister (Cairo)

Quad Schoolboy (12-16): 1. Geoffrey Hoyt (Amsterdam)

122-Open Novice: 1. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 2. Nick Huber (Catskill), 3. Morgan Cornell (Schuylerville), 4. Joshua Wolfe (Coxsackie), 5. Jacob Danyew (Caroga Lake)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown), 2. Kevin Scarcella (Ravena), 3. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 4. Ricky Lippman (Canajoharie), 5. Frank Hempstead (Westerlo)

122-Open Expert: 1 Mitch Daugherty (Whitesboro), 2. Troy Bapp Jr. (Queensbury), 3. Michael Lawlor (Schodack Landing), 4. Sam Schilde (Sharon Springs), 5. Greg Challacombe (Freehold)

Mini 60cc (7-11): 1. Tyrick Wheeler (Edmeston), 2. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 3. Kenneth DeRIdder (Middle Grove), 4. Dominic Grenga (Pennellville), 5. Chad Forstell (Scotia)

Plus-30 Amateur: 1. Jeremy Tittemore (Amsterdam), 2. Charlie Vrooman (Queensbury), 3. John Messina (Oneonta), 4. Ronald Jones (Sprakers), 5. Dennis Fitzpatrick (Gloversville)

Plus-30 Expert: 1. Matt Dwyer (Esperance)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Anthony Grenga (Pennellville), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 4. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 5. Zachary Hume (Burlington Flats)

122-250cc Expert: 1. Mitch Daugherty (Whitesboro), 2. Joe Vitetta (East Berne), 3. Michael Lawlor (Schodack Landing), 4. Adam Handy (Gloversville), 5. Christopher Ray (Cairo)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Zackery Kollar (Fort Plain), 2. Frank Hempstead (Westerlo), 3. Ricky Lippman (Canajoharie), 4. Jacob Church (Greenville), 5. Ryan West (Ballston Spa)

122-250cc Novice: 1. Nick Huber (Catskill), 2. Jack Mulyca (Caroga Lake), 3. Travis Witbeck (Johnsonville), 4. Nicholas Schindler (Catskill), 5. Adam Smith (Freehold)