Husain shares WAC North MVP honors

Several area players were among those selected for the Western Athletic Conference softball all-star team.

Mayfield’s Anna Husain and Saratoga Central Catholic’s Myah Ondreyko shared the WAC North Division Most Valuable Player award.

Mackenzie Biggers and Nicole Little also were named to the first team for Mayfield, which won the WAC North title this season.

Fort Plain had Abby Boyer, Jamie Fredericks and Kendra Trembley named first-team all-stars, while Canajoharie’s Lauren Balke and Bri Slater also were honored.

Rounding out the first team was Galway’s Jesse Uline.

St. Johnsville placed Mackenzie Ferguson and Rylie Smith on the second team.

Canajoharie’s Morgan Gray and Shy Logan also earned second-team honors, along with Mayfield’s Lisa Hime and Fort Plain’s Haley Kilmartin.

Rounding out the second-team all-stars were Galway’s Hannah Smith and Sabrina Williams, and Saratoga Catholic’s Natalie Pikus.

In the South Division, Duanesburg’s Stephanie Rice was selected as the MVP.

Rachel Gamache, Tori Powers, Hannah McGuire, Erika Kenney and Becky Nicollela were named first-team all-stars for Duanesburg, which went unbeaten in league play this season, winning the WAC South and WAC Cup titles.

Also named to the first team were Middleburgh’s Katie Green, Schoharie’s Sydney Foland and Lindsey Vanier, and Sharon Springs’ Sarah Green.

Berne-Knox-Westerlo placed Kaitlyn Curvin, Michela Horlacher and Kaitlyn Horlacher on the second team.

Also named to the second team were Middleburgh’s Megan Hagadorn and Bailey Wood, Schoharie’s Kaitlyn Kendle, Gabby Danthine and Brianna Borst, and Sharon Springs’ Renee Handy.

2013 Western Athletic Conference Softball All-Stars

North Division

Co-MVPs: Anna Husain (Mayfield), Myah Ondreyko (Saratoga Central Catholic)

First Team

Fort Plain: Abby Boyer, Jamie Fredericks, Kendra Trembley

Galway: Jesse Uline

Mayfield: Anna Husain, Mackenzie Biggers, Nicole Little

Saratoga Central Catholic: Myah Ondreyko

Canajoharie: Lauren Balfe, Bri Slater

Second Team

Fort Plain: Haley Kilmartin

Galway: Hannah Smith, Sabrina Williams

Mayfield: Lisa Hime

St. Johnsville: Mackenzie Ferguson, Rylie Smith

Saratoga Central Catholic: Natalie Pikus

Canajoharie: Morgan Gray, Shy Logan.

South Division

MVP: Stephanie Rice (Duanesburg)

First Team

Duanesburg: Stephanie Rice, Rachel Gamache, Tori Powers, Hannah McGuire, Erika Kenney, Becky Nicollela

Middleburgh: Katie Green

Schoharie: Sydney Foland, Lindsey Vanier

Sharon Springs: Sarah Green

Second Team

Berne-Knox-Westerlo: Kaitlyn Curvin, Michela Horlacher, Kaitlyn Horlacher

Middleburgh: Megan Hagadorn, Bailey Wood

Schoharie: Kaitlyn Kendle, Gabby Danthine, Brianna Borst

Sharon Springs: Renee Handy