Area softball players earn Foothills honors

Several area players were among those selected to the recently announced Foothills Council softball all-star team.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Rachel Orapello was the area’s lone first-team selection.

South Glens Falls’ Sam Hubinsky was named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

The Bulldogs also had Brooke Snyder, Mallory Celeste and Shannon Higgins named to the first team.

Queensbury had Taylor Clarke, Cat Hand, Brooke Meader and Rachel Malloy selected to the first team, while Hudson Falls had Nicole Sheloski, Ellie Gonyeau and Hannah St. Claire named first-team all-stars. Scotia-Glenville’s Zoe Purvis and Jen Mayette rounded out the first team.

Four area players were named second-team all-stars as Broadalbin-Perth’s Nicole Traver and Caitlin Rasefske were honored, along with Johnstown’s Alexis Swatt and Gloversville’s Alexis Capasso.

South Glens Falls’ Emily Sharpe and Tristen Scheidecker also were named second-team all-stars.

Rounding out the second team were Queensbury’s Katie Shevlin and Lindsey Ziegler, Hudson Falls’ Tanner Barton, Meghan Barton and Geneva Strong, Scotia-Glenville’s Ali Stuart and Hannah Angelo, and Glens Falls’ Rachel Lashway.

Johnstown had four players named honorable mention.

Morgan Colasanti, Briana Esposito, Ellen Praught and Alyssa Palmateer all earned honorable-mention status for the Lady Bills.

South Glens Falls’ Amber Bourdeau, Richele Bock, Jessica Miller and Kate Bourdeau also were named honorable mention, while Queensbury’s Alyssa Sparacia, Brit LaPlant and Amy Zuccaro earned honorable-mention status.

Rounding out those earning honorable mention were Glens Falls’ Kaili Jackson, Cassie Lefebvre and Betsy Burgess, and Scotia-Glenville’s Caila Day, Kayla DeAprix and Kayleigh Miles.

2013 Foothills Council Softball All-Stars

MVP: Sam Hubinsky (South Glens Falls)

First Team

South Glens Falls: Brooke Snyder, Mallory Celeste, Shannon Higgins

Queensbury: Taylor Clarke, Cat Hand, Rachel Malloy, Brooke Meader

Hudson Falls: Ellie Gonyeau, Hannah St. Claire, Nicole Sheloski

Scotia-Glenville: Zoe Purvis, Jen Mayette

Broadalbin-Perth Rachel Orapello

Second Team

South Glens Falls: Emily Sharpe, Tristen Scheidecker

Queensbury: Katie Shevlin, Lindsey Ziegler

Hudson Falls: Tanner Barton, Meghan Barton, Geneva Strong

Scotia-Glenville: Ali Stuart, Hannah Angelo

Broadalbin-Perth: Nicole Traver, Caitlin Rasefske

Glens Falls: Rachel Lashway

Johnstown: Alexis Swatt

Gloversville: Alexis Capasso

Honorable Mention

Queensbury: Alyssa Sparacia, Brit LaPlant, Amy Zuccaro

South Glens Falls: Amber Bourdeau, Richele Bock, Jessica Miller, Kate Bourdeau

Johnstown: Morgan Colasanti, Briana Esposito, Ellen Praught, Alyssa Palmateer

Glens Falls: Kaili Jackson, Cassie Lefebvre, Betsy Burgess

Scotia-Glenville: Caila Day, Kayla DeAprix, Kayleigh Miles