Wells’ Earley, Brenan named MVAC all-stars

WELLS – A pair of Wells players were among those recently honored as Mountain and Valley Athletic Conference Southern Division all-stars.

Jake Earley and Ben Brenan were both named first-team all-stars for the Indians.

The Wells boys went 11-7 overall this season, advancing to the Section VII Class D quarterfinals before losing 60-41 to eventual champion Moriah.

Crown Point’s Gabe Macey was selected as the MVAC Southern Division’s Most Valuable Player.

Joining Earley and Brenan as first-team all-stars were Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Colin Farrell and Matt Moore, and Minerva-Newcomb’s Austin Williams.

The list of MVAC Southern Division second-team all-stars included Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Henry Sandiford, Minerva-Newcomb’s Bryton Chikukwa, Johnsburg’s Austin Washburn, Keene’s Colton Venner and Crown Point’s Ryan Worth.

In the MVAC Northern Division, Schroon Lake’s Jesse Shaughnessy was named the Most Valuable Player.

Chazy’s Brandon Laurin, Westport’s Ryan Davis, Elizabethtown-Lewis’ Charlie Huttig, Willsboro’s Nick Arnold and Schroon Lake’s Jeff Armstrong all were named first-team MVAC Northern Division all-stars.

Schroon Lake’s Alex Shaughnessy and Tanner Stone were named second-team MVAC Northern Division all-stars.

Also named to the second team were Chazy’s Hayden Guay, Elizabethtown-Lewis’ Zac Noka-Bailey and Willsboro’s Seth Swires.


Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Jessica Bain was selected as the MVAC Southern Division Most Valuable Player, while Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Shannon Farrell earned first-team honors.

Also named to the first team in the Southern Division were Crown Point’s Amanda Wolfe, Keene’s Naomi Peduzzi, Johnsburg’s Astasia Miller and Minerva-Newcomb’s Gabrielle McNally.

Keene’s Tucker Geiger and Sadie Holbrook were named second-team all-stars.

They were joined on the second team by Indian Lake-Long Lake’s Meg Smith, Minerva-Newcomb’s Makenzie Winslow and Crown Point’s Brittany Foote.

In the MVAC Northern Division, Elizabethtown-Lewis’ Lily Whalen was named Most Valuable Player.

She was one of five Elizabethtown-Lewis players to earn Northern Division honors.

Shonna Brooks, Kylee Cassavaugh and Kearstin Ashline all earned first-team honors for Elizabethtown-Lewis, while Jasmine Barnes was named to the second team.

Also named first-team MVAC Northern Division all-stars were Westport’s Brendee Russell and Schroon Lake’s Lindsay Reynolds.

Also earning second-team honors were Willsboro’s Kylie Swires, Amanda Mahoney and Renee Marcotte, and Chazy’s Ashley Gilmore.

No Wells girls were selected for the MVAC Southern Division all-star team.

The Lady Indians went 1-14 overall this season.

Mountain and Valley Athletic Conference Basketball All-Star Teams

Southern Division Boys

MVP: Gabe Macey (Crown Point)

First Team

Colin Farrell (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Austin Williams (Minerva-Newcomb), Matt Moore (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Ben Brenan (Wells), Jake Earley (Wells)

Second Team

Henry Sandiford (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Bryton Chikukwa (Minerva-Newcomb), Austin Washburn (Johnsburg), Colton Venner (Keene), Ryan Worth (Crown Point)

Northern Division Boys

MVP: Jesse Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake)

First Team

Brandon Laurin (Chazy), Ryan Davis (Westport), Charlie Huttig ((Elizabethtown-Lewis), Nick Arnold (Willsboro), Jeff Armstrong (Schroon Lake)

Second Team

Hayden Guay (Chazy), Zac Noka-Bailey (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Seth Swires (Willsboro), Tanner Stone (Schroon Lake), Alex Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake)

Southern Division Girls

MVP: Jessica Bain (Indian Lake-Long Lake)

First Team

Shannon Farrell (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Amanda Wolfe (Crown Point), Naomi Peduzzi (Keene), Astasia Myler (Johnsburg), Gabrielle McNally (Minerva-Newcomb)

Second Team

Meg Smith (Indian Lake-Long Lake), Tucker Geiger (Keene), Makenzie Winslow (Minerva-Newcomb), Sadie Holbrook (Keene), Brittany Foote (Crown Point)

Northern Division Girls

MVP: Lily Whalen (Elizabethtown-Lewis)

First Team

Shonna Brooks (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Brendee Russell (Westport), Kylee Cassavaugh (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Kearstin Ashline (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Lindsay Reynolds (Schroon Lake)

Second Team

Kylie Swires (Willsboro), Amanda Mahoney (Willsboro), Renee Marcotte (Willsboro), Jasmine Barnes (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Ashley Gilmore (Chazy)