City measures make way for parade in May

JOHNSTOWN – City officials are taking steps to bring back the former Johnstown Memorial Day Parade this year after a one-year absence.

Mayor Sarah Slingerland has appointed a six-member City of Johnstown Parade Committee.

Appointed to the committee were: Fire Chief Bruce Heberer, City Treasurer Michael Gifford, Joseph Salamack, Peter O’Lucci, City Clerk Cathy VanAlstyne and Garth Hillier.

Slingerland said the committee already has some “great” ideas for this year’s Memorial Day Parade.

She said the city looks forward to the committee being involved in not only the parade, but also the annual city Veterans Day service on Nov. 11.

The city didn’t hold the Memorial Day parade in 2012 after former chief organizer and volunteer Ruth B. White began having health problems. She died June 28.

The city budgeted $1,000 to help pay for the parade this year. Heberer is heading the committee, which may conduct the parade May 24.

In related action, the council approved a resolution endorsing the Memorial Day Parade and Veterans Day program.

The council formally supported the two events for coverage under the city’s liability insurance policy.

“The Common Council of the city of Johnstown appreciates and encourages certain events and activities which benefit the citizens of the city of Johnstown,” the resolution stated.

In other business:

The council appointed the following to the Johnstown Economic Development Corp. Board of Trustees: Gifford, City Engineer Chandra Cotter, Deputy City Engineer Jason Scott and VanAlstyne.

“This corporation was put together in the late 1980s,” Gifford said.

At the time, he said, officials used grant money to create a loan pool. Monday’s action appoints a formal board so members are in place to do “business of the corporation” if needed in the future, Gifford said.

The council also established standard work days for these officials: Deputy Treasurer Victoria Nellis and Scott, both eight hours; and Water Board Clerk Cinda Spraker, seven hours. The state comptroller’s office requires the standard hours be set as part of state Retirement System requirements.