Lady Braves’ Parslow named to Colonial Council all-star team

Fonda-Fultonville sophomore Emily Parslow was the Lady Braves’ lone selection to the recently announced Colonial Council girls basketball all-star team.

Parslow, who was named to the second team, averaged a team-high 17.3 points per game for FFCS this season.

“It was a nice honor for Emily to be named to the second team,” Fonda-Fultonville coach Wendi Waters said.

Fonda-Fultonville finished its season with a 9-11 overall record.

Watervliet senior Ailayia Demand was named the Colonial Council’s Most Valuable Player and a first-team all-star,

Also named to the first team were Holy Names’ Hannah Friend, Watervliet’s Mikayla DeGuire, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Kayla Hotaling and Holy Names’ Mary Kate Murray.

Joining Parslow on the second team were Schalmont’s Haylee Metzold, Voorheesville’s Anna Feller, Holy Names’ Kit Small and Ichabod Crane’s Ashley Haywood.

Cohoes had Nerea Brajac and Abby Fitzgerald named to the third team.

Rounding out the third team were Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Shelby Preston, Holy Names’ Deja Deas and Mechanicville’s Aubrey Zecca.

In addiion to Parslow earning all-league honors, FFCS also had Emily Frollo and Taylor Wetsky named to the Colonial Exceptional Seniors Game.

The game is scheduled for today at 6 p.m. at Voorheesville High School.

Colonial Council Girls Basketball All-Stars

MVP: Ailayia Demand (Watervliet)

First Team

Hannah Friend (Holy Names)

Mikayla DeGuire (Watervliet)

Kayla Hotaling (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

Mary Kate Murray (Holy Names)

Second Team

Haylee Metzold (Schalmont)

Emily Parslow (Fonda-Fultonville)

Anna Feller (Voorheesville)

Kit Small (Holy Names)

Ashley Haywood (Ichabod Crane)

Honorable Mention

Shelby Preston (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk)

Nerea Zajac (Cohoes)

Deja Deas (Holy Names)

Aubrey Zecca (Mechanicville)

Abby Fitzgerald (Cohoes)