Several Dolgeville wrestlers earn CSC honors

Dolgeville was well represented on the recently announced Center State Conference wrestling all-star team.

The Blue Devils, who won the Section III Class D team title, had eight wrestlers named CSC all-stars.

Triston Engle was named a first-team all-star at 152 pounds.

Engle, a sophomore, won the Section III Class D title at 152 pounds and went 40-4 this season.

Danny Fox (106 pounds), Ben Nastovski (120) and Kasey Foster (182) were named second-team all-stars for the Blue Devils.

Fox, a sophomore, placed second at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Division II (small-school) tourney in Albany. Fox, who finished the season with a 38-3 overall record, also won the Section III Division II and Class D titles.

Fox was the first Dolgeville wrestler to reach the state tournament since Dan Haughton placed fifth in 2008.

Nastovski placed third at the Class D tournament and was sixth at the Section III Division II tournament. Nastovski finished his season with a 33-6 overall record.

Foster, a sophomore, won the Class D title and placed third at the Section III Division II tournament. Foster finished the season with a 32-11 overall record.

Noah Handy (99), Andrew Dillenbeck (113), Ian Nagle (145) and Richard Lyon (160) earned honorable-mention status for Dolgeville.

Handy, Dillenbeck and Lyon all won Class D titles for the Blue Devils. Handy and Dillenbeck also placed third at the Section III Division II Tournament. Handy went 33-8 this season for Dolgeville, while Dillenbeck, a junior, was 16-7. Lyon went 31-11 in his sophomore season for Dolgeville.

Adirondack had three wrestlers named to the first team as Derek Spann (99), Ryan O’Rourke (106) and Tyler Spann (160) were honored.

Canastota’s Jesse Puchales (170), Zack Zupan (182) and Wyatt Albanese (195) also were named first-team CSC all-stars.

New Hartford had three wrestlers named to the second team, including Kelen McKenna (99), Dempsey King (113) and James Laurenzo (220).

Ilion’s Tanner Cook and Herkimer’s T.J. Philpotts were named honorable mention at 99 pounds, while Sherburne-Earlville’s Hunter Owen and Adirondack’s Brandon Gaylord were named honorable mention at 106 pounds.

At 113 pounds, Morrisville-Eaton’s Zack Burke and Rome Free Academy’s D’Andrew Norman were named honorable mention.

Ilion’s Dan Sportello, Cooperstown’s Mike Boyle, Sherburne-Earlville’s Kevin Dunshee, Canastota’s Nate Wallker, Poland’s Albert Amacher and Vernon-Verona-Sherrill’s Bryce Cipollone were named honorable mention at 120 pounds.

Center State Conference Wrestling All-Stars

First Team

99: Derek Spann (Adirondack)

106: Ryan O’Rourke (Adirondack)

113: Hunter Richard (Holland Patent)

120: Dan Fancett (New Hartford)

126: Laken Cook (Ilion)

132: Garrett Mitchell (Camden)

138: Sean McKenna (New Hartford)

145: Jacob Miller (Cooperstown)

152: Triston Engle (Dolgeville)

160: Tyler Spann (Adirondack)

170: Jesse Puchales (Canastota)

182: Zack Zupan (Canastota)

195: Wyatt Albanese (Canastota)

220: Josh Langley (Holland Patent)

285: Mackenzie Dorie (Mount Markham)

Second Team

99: Kelen McKenna (New Hartford)

106: Danny Fox (Dolgeville)

113: Dempsey King (New Hartford)

120: Ben Nastovski (Dolgeville)

126: Antonio DeLuco (Rome Free Academy)

132: Connor Russ (Canastota)

138: Todd Stevens (Holland Patent)

145: Bryan Bennett (Ilion)

152: Josh Knapp (Rome Free Academy)

160: Matt Fisher (Oneida)

170: Brandon Lake (Holland Patent)

182: Kasey Foster (Dolgeville)

195: Lane Frost (Vernon-Verona-Sherrill)

220: James Laurenzo (New Hartford)

285: Wyatt Morris (Morrisville-Eaton)

Honorable Mention

99: Tanner Cook (Ilion), Noah Handy (Dolgeville), T.J. Philpotts (Herkimer)

106: Hunter Owen (Sherburne-Earlville), Brandon Gaylord (Adirondack)

113: Zack Burke (Morrisville-Eaton), D’Andre Norman (Rome Free Academy), Andrew Dillenbeck (Dolgeville)

120: Dan Sportello (Mohawk), Mike Boyle (Cooperstown), Kevin Dunshee (Sherburne-Earlville), Nate Walker (Canastota), Albert Amacher (Poland), Bryce Cipollone (Vernon-Verona-Sherrill)

126: Matt Haddad (Utica Proctor)

132: Andrew Burch (Ilion), John Mazza (Mohawk), Alex Herringshaw (Holland Patent), Joe Hennessey (Adirondack)

138: Joe Tiller (Canastota), Kasey Proper (Vernon-Verona-Sherrill), Jason Colon (Vernon-Cerona-Sherrill)

145: Anthony Micaroni (Canastota), Tim Rathbun (Mohawk), Brett Finch (Camden), Ian Nagle (Dolgeville)

152: Chad Finch (Camden), Gage Patry (Vernon-Verona-Sherrill), T.J. Eberly (Whitesboro)

160: Richard Lyon (Dolgeville), Tom Confer (Camden), Landon Slawson (Whitesboro)

170: Dan Appley (Herkimer), Brett Lewis (Morrisville-Eaton)

182: Taylor Short (Holland Patent)

195: Kevin Segit (Cooperstown), Thad Casler (Camden), Garrett DuVall (Sherburne-Earlville)

220: Steve Napolitano (Herkimer), Tyler DeLaura (Adirondack), Owen Albanese (Canastota)

285: Ian Radell (Camden), Stephen Davis (Mohawk), Tyler Havener (Oneida), Jacob Morris (Canastota), J.P. Gertz (Cooperstown)