Area wrestlers named Foothills Council, WAC all-stars

Several area wrestlers were among those earning league all-star honors in the Foothills Council and Western Athletic Conference.

Johnstown’s Joe Nellis was named a first-team Foothills Council all-star at 220 pounds.

Nellis finished fifth at 220 pounds in the Division II (small-school) state championship in Albany on Feb. 22 and 23.

Nellis, who lost his first match at the state tournament, won four of his next five to post a 4-2 record on the weekend.

Nellis finished the season with a 33-3 record.

Foothills Council and Section II Class B champion Queensbury had six wrestlers to the first team.

Nick Robbins (106 pounds), Brandon Winchip (113), Kody Bruno (126), Mike Irvine (145), Evan Myers (160) and Frankie Nassivera (170) all earned first-team honors for the Spartans.

Also named to the first team in the Foothills Council were South Glens Falls’ Anthony Sgorrano (99), Hudson Falls’ Kyler Harrington (120), South Glens Falls’ Zack Morris (132), South Glens Falls’ Spencer Kilburn (138), Glens Falls’ Garrett Hayes (152), Hudson Falls Tyler Schermerhorn (182), Glens Falls’ Andre Maxam (195) and Scotia-Glenville’s Brandon Hulin (285).

In addition to their six first-team all-stars Queensbury placed four other wrestlers on the second team.

Jared Bruno (99), Eric St. John (120), Brian Stevens (138) and Dillon Deckert (152) were named second-team all-stars for the Spartans.

Hudson Falls had Joel Charpentier (106), Andrew Lafay (113), Mike Kelly (126), Bobby Newton (132), Steve Burch (145), Jeff Stanahan (160), Geno Brancati (170), Sean Hogan (195) and Logan Barcomb (285) named second-team all-stars.

Rounding out the second team were Glens Falls’ Tyrese Jabot (182) and Scotia-Glenville’s Joe Graham (220).

Western Athletic


As it did on the mat, Duanesburg dominated the all-star selections for the Western Athletic Conference.

The Eagles’ Connor Lawrence was named league MVP and a first-team all-star at 152 pounds.

Also named to the first team for Duanesburg were Devin VanVlack (99 pounds), Andy Mollevik (145), Mark Caulfield (160), Henry Holmes (170), Colin Kenyon (182) and Jeff Senecal (195).

Galway had Nico Riccio (106), Jordan Sartin (113), Jay Oakes (132) and Steve Culbert (138) named to the first team.

Rounding out the first team were Schoharie’s Sean Durfee (120), Alexis Bleau (126) and Kyle Brown (138), and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Joe Sprung (220) and Matt Farnam (285).

Canajoharie-Fort Plain had five wrestlers named second-team all-stars.

Tim Hazzard (99), Ed Rolle (113), Gordon Trahan (126), Jordan Griswold (160) and Gene Ryan (220) earned second-team honors for C-FP.

In addition to its seven first-team all-stars, Duanesburg had Shane Barberis (106), Dan Powers (120), Austin Lown (132), Jason St. John (182) and Charles Mueller (285) named second-team all-stars.

Galway had Colyn Ainsworth (138), John Mulligan (170) and Seth Carter (195) named to the second team.

Rounding out the second team were Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Cody Fisher (145) and Dom Woodsmansee (152), and Schoharie’s Christopher DellaRocco (182).

Foothills Council Wrestling All-Stars

First Team

99: Anthony Sgorrano (South Glens Falls)

106: Nick Robbins (Queensbury)

113: Brandon Winchip (Queensbury)

120: Kyler Harrington (Hudson Falls)

126: Kody Bruno (Queensbury)

132: Zack Morris (South Glens Falls)

138: Spencer Kilburn (South Glens Falls)

145: Mke Irvine (Queensbury)

152: Garrett Hayes (Glens Falls)

160: Evan Myers (Queensbury)

170: Frankie Nassivera (Queensbury)

182: Tyler Schermerhorn (Hudson Falls)

195: Andre Maxam (Glens Falls)

220: Joe Nellis (Johnstown)

285: Brandon Hulin (Scotia-Glenville)

Second Team

99: Jared Bruno (Queensbury)

106: Joel Charpentier (Hudson Falls)

113: Andrew Lafay (Hudson Falls)

120: Eric St. John (Queensbury)

126: Mike Kelly (Hudson Falls)

132: Bobby Newton (Hudson Falls)

138: Brian Stevens (Queensbury)

145: Steve Burch (Hudson Falls)

152: Dillon Deckert (Queensbury)

160: Jeff Stranahan (Hudson Falls)

170: Geno Brancati (Hudson Falls)

182: Tyrese Jabot (Glens Falls)

195: Sean Hogan (Hudson Falls)

220: Joe Graham (Scotia-Glenville)

285: Logan Barcomb (Hudson Falls)

Western Athletic Conference Wrestling All-Stars

MVP: Connor Lawrence (Duanesburg)

First Team

99: Devin VanVlack (Duanesburg)

106: Nico Riccio (Galway)

113: Jordan Sartin (Galway)

120: Sean Durfee (Schoharie)

126: Alexis Bleau (Schoharie)

132: Jay Oakes (Galway)

138: Steve Culbert (Galway), Kyle Brown (Schoharie)

145: Andy Mollevik (Duanesburg)

152: Connor Lawrence (Duanesburg)

160: Mark Caulfield (Duanesburg)

170: Henry Holmes (Duanesburg)

182: Colin Kenyon (Duanesburg)

195: Jeff Senecal (Duanesburg)

220: Joe Sprung (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

285: Matt Farnam (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

Second Team

99: Tim Hazzard (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

106: Shane Barberis (Duanesburg)

113: Ed Rolle (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

120: Dan Powers (Duanesburg)126: Gordon Trahan (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

132: Austin Lown (Duanesburg)

138: Colyn Ainsworth (Galway)

145: Cody Fisher (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

152: Dom Woodmansee (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

160: Jordan Griswold (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

170: John Mulligan (Galway)

182: Christopher DellaRocco (Schoharie), Jason St.John (Duanesburg)

195: Seth Carter (Galway)

220: Gene Ryan (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

285: Charles Mueller (Duanesburg)