Sea Dragons take fifth at sectional swim meet

CLIFTON PARK – The Gloversville boys placed fifth in the team standings Saturday at the Section II small-school swim championships at Shenendehowa High School.

The Sea Dragons recorded 178 points to edge sixth-place Canajoharie-Fort Plain (162), while Amsterdam placed eighth with 100 and Fonda-Johnstown ninth with 90.

Nick Cirillo had a big day for the Sea Dragons, placing third in the 200-yard freestyle in 1:52.32 and third in the 500-yard freestyle in 5:07.98.

Cirillo also swam a leg on the 200-yard medley relay team with Wade Inman, Skyler Deming and Brandon Paul that placed sixth in 1:49.55 and the 200 freestyle relay with Matt Helou, Deming and Paul that placed third in 1:36.20.

Paul also placed sixth in the 50-yard freestyle in 24.00, while Deming was eighth in the event in 24.38 and Helou 10th in 24.41.

Helou, Inman, Anthony Oathout and Hunter Pieniazek teamed up to place sixth in the 400-yard freestyle relay with their time of 3:3.19.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Ruben McFarlane placed third in the 100-yard freestyle in 51.39 and fourth in the 100-yard backstroke in 1:00.09.

Chris Deyette placed fourth in the 100-yard breaststroke for Canajoharie-Fort Plain in 1:08.15 and eighth in the 200-yard IM in 2:18.18.

Deyette and McFarlane teamed with Jake Brody and Seth Ferguson to place fifth in the 200-yard medley relay (1:47.51)? McFarlane, Deyette, Brody and Bryn Clark combined to place fifth in the 400-yard freestyle relay in 3:34.31, while the team of Ferguson, Clark, Gabbie Kiefl and Zephran Vosburgh placed sixth in the 200-yard freestyle relay in 1:14.88.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Tyler Askew placed sixth in the 100-yard butterfly with his time of 59.01.

Askew swam a leg on FoJo’s eighth-place finishing 200-yard freestyle relay team (1:43.52) with Aaron Alvarez, Daeshan Buseck and Steven Dunbar.

Dunbar, Alvarez and Askew were joined by Cody Arminio on the 400-yard freestyle relay team and placed eighth in 3:58.24.