JHS boys finish fifth at sectionals

NORTH CREEK – The Johnstown boys alpine ski team placed fifth Tuesday at the Section II alpine skiing championships at Gore Mountain.

The Johnstown girls team finished seventh.

In the boys giant slalom race, Niskayuna’s Philip Weeber won with a time of 1:13.38. Saratoga Springs’ Kieran Mottau (1:13.83) was second, Christian Brothers Academy’s Michael Merecki (1:14.72) was third, CBA’s P.J. Kotecki (1:15.08) was fourth and Queensbury’s Alex Hohman (1:16.74) was fifth.

Colin Dalmata led Johnstown, placing 12th with a time of 1:19.00.

Joel Levin (1:20.71) was 17th for the Sir Bills and Lukas Levin (1:32.38) was 42nd. Also competing for the Sir Bills were Nick Salatel (47th, 1:35.00), Zack Simone (48th, 1:35.11), Austin Stergas (60th, 1:44.28) and Noah Western (63rd, 1:47.08).

CBA’s Merecki won the boys slalom race with a time of 40.56 seconds, while Niskayuna’s Ned Feist was second with a time of 41.44 seconds. Queensbury’s Hohman and Lake George’s Cooper Perkett tied for third with a time of 43.16 seconds, while Albany Academy’s Justin Swits (44.83 seconds) was fifth.

Dalmata led Johnstown, finishing 11th with a time of 46.03 seconds. Joel Levin was 16th with a time of 46.97 seconds for the Sir Bills, while Lukas Levin (51.97 seconds) was 28th.

Also competing for Johnstown were Salatel (32nd, 54.63), Simone (35th, 56.10), Western (41st, 59.75) and Stergas (44th, 1:05.25).

Queensbury won the boys team title with a total of 54.5 points. Saratoga Springs (69 points) was second, Stillwater-Bolton (84) was third and Niskayuna (100) was fourth. Johnstown was fifth with 126 points.

In the girls’ meet, Shenendehowa’s Julia Smith won the giant slalom with a time of 1:16.00.

Albany Academy’s Alex MacAffer (1:19.15) was second, Queensbury’s Katie Zilka (1:19.33) was third, Saratoga Springs’ Sierra Spring (1:19.48) was fourth and Shenendehowa’s Courtney Scriven (1:20.80) was fifth.

Serena Smith was Johnstown’s top finisher, placing 29th with a time of 1:35.43.

Emily Havlicek (1:37.94) was 33rd for the Lady Bills, while Whitney Western (1:41.90) was 39th.

Also competing for Johnstown were Reilly Kotwasinski (41st, 1:43.05) and Helaina Stergas (43rd, 1:49.66). Sara Kosowicz and Hannah Keener both failed to finish for the Lady Bills.

Smith also won the girls slalom with a time of 41.42 seconds. Queensbury’s Julia Sante (41.97 seconds) was second, Shenendehowa’s Kristen Kruk (42.36) was third, Olivia Paolano (43.06) was fourth and Queensbury’s Zilka was 43.14 seconds.

Havlicek led Johnstown, placing 28th with a time of 55.82 seconds.

Keener (57.25 seconds) was 31st, while Smith (59.05) 36th.

Also competing for Johnstown were Kotwasinski (42nd, 1:03.24), Western (44th, 1:04.31) and Stergas (53rd, 1:10.59). Kosowicz failed to finish her run for the Lady Bills.

Shenendehowa won the girls team title with 27 points, while Queensbury edged Saratoga Springs on a tiebreaker for second after both teams finished with 51 points.

Niskayuna (137 points) was fourth and Glens Falls (164) was fifth. Johnstown was seventh with 196 points.

Kotecki (CBA), Weeber (Niskayuna), Feist (Niskayuna), Mottau (Saratoga Springs), Merecki (CBA), Theo Korenowski (Stillwater-Bolton), Pat Burton (Glens Fals), Hohman (Queensbury), Perkett (Lake George), Russell Merchant (Queensbury) and James Paolano (Queensbury) were named to the boys Section II state meet team.

The girls state meet team will consist of Smith (Shenendehowa), Spring (Saratoga Spings), Elle Daley (Albany Academy), Paolano (Queensbury), Sante (Queensbury), Kruk (Shenedehowa), Zilka (Queensbury), MacAffter (Albany Academy), Gabbi Hedges (Saratoga Springs), Scriven (Shenendehowa) and Marnie Chancey (Bolton).

The state championhip meet will take place Feb. 25 and 26 at Bristol Mountain in Canandaigua.